Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Tummy Tuck* Procedures Near Pittsburgh, PA

Pittsburgh area men and women looking for a board-certified plastic surgeon to perform their cosmetic surgery procedure may find our patient reviews helpful. Dr. Fernau’s patients consider him to be one of the best plastic surgeons in the Pittsburgh area and we are very grateful for their ongoing testimonials. Every patient comment we receive we take to heart, for they keep Dr. Fernau striving to be that “Top Doc” that every patient is seeking. We invite you to read what our patients have to say about Dr. Fernau and our plastic surgery practice.

Filter11 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 26, 2018

Dr. Fernau and his staff are amazing! In June 2018 I had a no drain lipoabdominoplasty and the results are better than I ever could have imagined. During the consultation, I was given the options based on what I wanted to accomplish and Dr. Fernau was very honest with me in which procedures would get me the best results. In deciding to go through with the tummy tuck, Sheila was a wealth of knowledge in going over the paper work and preoperative procedures. On the day of the surgery at Trinity Hospital (and their staff was amazing too!), I was nervous, but knew I was in good hands because of how thorough and meticulous Dr. Fernau was before we went into the room for surgery. After surgery I couldn't believe how good I felt and already looked! The recovery process was much better than expected (I never took a pain pill!). I was walking pretty much normal after a week and back to normal activities within 6 weeks. My life has changed completely due to this procedure and the wonderful results thanks to Dr. Fernau. I am continuing to workout and watch my diet and after 5 months post-op I am down 20 pounds and look like a whole knew person! I highly recommend Dr. Fernau and his staff. They are truly AMAZING! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 26, 2018

No drain tummy tuck with amazing results - Dr. Fernau and his staff are amazing! In June 2018 I had a no drain lipoabdominoplasty and the results are better than I ever could have imagined. During the consultation, I was given the options based on what I wanted to accomplish and Dr. Fernau was very honest with me in which procedures would get me the best results. In deciding to go through with the tummy tuck, Sheila was a wealth of... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 16, 2017

Best Decision I Made - Dr Fernau is amazing. He cares so much about his patients and is truly a perfectionist. I had surgery for a tummy tuck and was so pleased with the outcome, he definitely goes over and above. He really listens and answers your questions and cares about his patients and exceeding their expectations. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking cosmetic surgery. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-07-24
Review from F.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 30, 2016

5’5, 210 Lbs., 50, BA, 565cc HP Sientra - Pittsburgh, PA - He really takes pride in his work. Very skilled, honest and realistic. - - In order to make it easier for those like me, I have tried to put all the key words in my title to make searching for a story on a plus-size, older woman’s experience easier to find. Before I start, I just want to say thank you to all the lovely and brave ladies that have shared your stories. I’ve been reading and reading and re-reading so many. I’m finally sitting down to share mine. My story is similar to others that I have read. I never had big breasts. Especially in my 20s, I was 110 lbs. with an A cup size i.e. no boobs. I was always trying to hide my chest with ruffles on bikini tops, padded bras, and loose tops. As I gained weight, I did gain some in my cup size but mostly in my band size. At my highest weight, 274, I was a 44d with my stomach sticking out further than my boobs. A problem I still have at 210, 42c.In 2014, I had gastric bypass surgery and lost 90 lbs. While I was reading the WLS forums the inkling of PS started stirring. Tummy tucks, BAs and BLs. I was down to 184, then started gaining weight over the last 4 or 5 months, up 40 lbs. When my clothes started getting tight I started stepping on the scale and was so mad at what I gained back, I then started journaling my food and exercising – something I never did faithfully. I lost 14 lbs. and STOPPED. I’ve been at the same weight for two months! I can’t take it. I don’t know if it’s a stall – long stalls are common in WLS patients – or if it’s something else. If it’s just a weight-loss stall then I don’t know what to do. Anyway, earlier this year I started thinking about BA and researched online and found two PS that seemed to be candidates for consultations. I then spoke with my husband who was totally surprised that this was something that I’d ever want. Of course, he’d love it, lol. I told him that if PS was more prevalent and I was more confident back when I was in my 20s, I would have had it done. He totally supports whatever I want to do and has always said he loves me like I am. He is the only one who knows that I’m going to do this. I have started what I call “double-bubbling it”. I wear a padded-increase-your-cup-size-by-2 bra with an underwire regular bra on top that is a cup size larger than what I am. It’s ridiculous, but what I need to do to start transitioning into my after-BA body without it being too noticeable. I was so nervous to make that call to set-up my first consultation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.F.  |  Source: Google  |  May 23, 2016

Dr.Fernau performed a tummy tuck,and smart lipo of the arms,legs,and butt. Amazing Results!!! My tummy tuck scar healed as a paper thin line!, and the smart lipo areas healed significantly firm!, and much more contoured! I have had these same procedures done by another surgeon, and in comparison Dr.Fernau's work is far superior!! He is a very personable, and kind person as well! He and every member of his staff made me feel like family! Thank You Dr.Fernau! Thank You Sheila!, and Thank You Staff!...Edie,Sherry,Melinda,and Bonnie(OR Staff), Sharon,Kelly, and Leah (Front Desk Staff) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 15, 2015

My Awesome Breast Augmentation - Pittsburgh, PA - With Dr. Fernau, you instantly know that he is seeing the best “you” that you can possibly be 'as he’s talking with you'. He had great suggestions and ideas on what I could do to improve my look based on my personal priorities. I had asked his opinion as to what he felt he could help me improve upon. Glad I did! I hadn't known about fat transfers before him. He pulled out materials, books, diagrams, and explained everything in detail...and there was no rushing. Sheila, the RN, is so knowledgeable, thorough, PATIENT and kind.. (AND too beautiful, lol!). I was well cared for from start to finish! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 02, 2015

The Entire Experience by Far Exceeded Well Beyond my Expectations - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr. James Fernau and his entire staff are just simply amazing! 5 Stars is simply not enough.I met with Dr. James Fernau for a consultation to discuss a Breast Augmentation as well as a Tummy Tuck. The consultation lasted about 2 hours. I never felt rushed and left knowing exactly what was involved and what to expect.As a mother of three, having plastic surgery is scary as I thought what happens if... The day before the surgery the surgical nurse and the anesthesiologist called me to discuss the procedure. With being so scared; after each call I felt completely reassured that everything will go smoothly and the decision I was making was the right choice. The surgery went very well. Afterwards, I stayed overnight in the suite with the nurse. She was so very sweet and caring. I never had to ask for anything as she was always on top of everything. For two days following surgery; the Doctor, the surgical nurse, my overnight nurse and my anesthesiologist all called me to check up on me. I have had a previous procedure done by another plastic surgeon so I do have something to compare Dr. James Fernau to and I must say I have never experienced a Doctor and his entire staff that is so caring.Would I recommend Dr. James Fernau? Absolutely! The entire experience by far exceeded well beyond my expectations. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-03
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 05, 2014

Mama's Turn! - Pittsburgh, PA - Ready to have a partial tummy tuck with aqua lipo and fat grafting. I'm 40 years old with a 11 yr. old and also a 19 yr. old. Tired of my tummy having to be hidden - always. :( Don't want the perfect tummy... Just want the pouch to go far, far away. I'm nervous about the recovery period. I work a desk job full-time... Live in a 2-story house w/the bathroom only on the top floor. I've had gall bladder surgery this past May & that was a couple weeks to recover - so REALLY scared about this surgery. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8246615
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 10, 2013

Dr. Fernau gave me a tummy tuck about 10 weeks ago, and I couldn't be more thrilled with the results! He is extremely knowledgeable and very capable of applying the newest techniques, of which I have greatly benefited. Dr. Fernau chose to use a new Brazilian technique which has kept my scar several inches shorter than the usual hip to hip incision that I was dreading. I am amazed at how my scar is fading, thanks to his laser treatment, and can't wait to get show off my flat tummy this summer. The staff at the office are also extremely competent and professional. They are very friendly and patient, and have encouraged my questions even when I have had to contact them after hours. I have actually enjoyed coming into the office because they really seem to enjoy helping people. It's a fabulous environment. Dr. Fernau has also been very professional in his demeanor, and always prompt. I look forward to my future breast augmentation, which he has offered at substantial discount! More

5.0
Review from K.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  May 28, 2015

Very friendly and super helpful office staff!!! Dr. Fernau takes time to explain and is very good about making sure you don’t feel rushed and can ask questions. I am pleased with the result so far and am still healing for Breast Augmentation and Tummy Tuck. I would recommend him to a friend without reservations. GREAT EXPERIENCE! More

5.0
Review from K.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 27, 2009

In October 2008, I decided to have an abdominoplasty, (tummy tuck), done for medical reasons. I turned to the skill and professionalism of Dr. James L. Fernau, as I have done In the past. He was very thorough in all aspects of pre-surgical tests and medical information needed for surgery. Surgery went well and my post surgical care was excellent! I went from a size 12-14 to a size 8 and lost 30lbs! Because I Have has previous cosmetic surgeries by Dr. Fernau, I knew that I would be in good hands and would achieve the results that I needed. Well, my results were more than I expected!! Dr. Fernau gave me a new and tight tummy area. I went from a size 12-14 to a size 8 and lost 30lbs. It literally gave me a youthful shape again! The medical issues that I had developed, three years ago, from a renowned hospital in Cleveland, had been taken care of by Dr. Fernau as well. He gave me my life back! So, from a reconstructive and cosmetic standpoint, I was extremely pleased with everything and would recommend Dr. Fernau for any surgery without any hesitation! Pre-surgical, operative, and post operative surgical care and support was always there. Results….outstanding More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.