Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dr. James Fernau Plastic Surgery

Pittsburgh area men and women looking for a board-certified plastic surgeon to perform their cosmetic surgery procedure may find our patient reviews helpful. Dr. Fernau’s patients consider him to be one of the best plastic surgeons in the Pittsburgh area and we are very grateful for their ongoing testimonials. Every patient comment we receive we take to heart, for they keep Dr. Fernau striving to be that “Top Doc” that every patient is seeking. We invite you to read what our patients have to say about Dr. Fernau and our plastic surgery practice.

Filter25 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 08, 2019

I was very nervous about having any type of surgery let alone plastic surgery.  I researched many doctors and had 3 consults. I am so very pleased with my results and with the entire process.  Dr. Fernau was amazing. He explained everything and took the time to answer my questions.  He has an eye for detail and strives for perfection.  Highly, highly recommend.  I felt safe and secure with him as my surgeon.  Follow up with so easy and timely.  Overall the procedure had very little pain or down time.  Would do it again. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-14663228
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 22, 2017

Awesome surgeon! Has a very caring bedside manner. He is very meticulous about his work. I've had several procedures and trust his skills as a surgeon. Staff is caring too! At least call for a consultation and he will answer any questions you have thoroughly without judgment. I was scared to go show some stranger my body issues but he made me feel that's its normal for people to want to improve themselves. He is very professional and loves what he does. From eyelift, rhinoplasty, dermabrasion, buttlift to liposuction, I've loved all my results! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13759777
Review from R.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 02, 2016

I am 22 years old, and my husband and myself had been shopping for the right doctor to perform my Brazilian Butt Lift. We had been to every office in Pittsburgh, and saved Dr. Fernau's office last, because I was highly impressed with his previous work in Brazil. His consult was so outstanding, that we scheduled my surgery before leaving his office. The technology he used during his consult was the best I had seen, not to mention I could really tell that he was passionate about his work. He referred to what he did as "art" instead of surgery. The fact that the doctor himself was there to answer all my question really impressed me, since all of my other consult's were with an LPN or a doctor's consult manager. I was so nervous, and Dr. Fernau literally made me feel so confident by the time of my appointment date. He even gave me his personal cell phone number if I had any questions before or after! What surgeon do you know, does that? He told me at the consult he sees his patients as his children, and he was not lying! He was always there to answer any questions or give any suggestions, and even supplied a health routine (with vitamins, probiotics, and dietary suggestions) for me to follow prior and after surgery as to see that I will have top notch results and to help my body heal faster. During my research on Dr. Fernau I was impressed to see his work on patient safety, his advanced education, and the world wide recognition his name holds in the plastic surgery world. He is one of the only doctor's who has the advanced technology of the HydroSolve, that he used to take out the fat in my abdominal and hip rolls and place into my buttocks. The HydroSolve alone, if you are looking into this surgery, and you don't know about it; please do yourself the favor and do some research on how advanced this machine is and how lucky you'd be to have your surgery done using this machine. The HydroSolve machine combined with Dr. Fernau's excellent skills and extremely caring and professional staff; I am beyond happy with my experience and even happier with my results. I love how he sculpted my body! In fact my husband and I decieded to also commit to having my boob job, as well as laser hair removal done at Dr. Fernau's office as well. I truely feel like family when I come to his office, and each visit feels so comforting, yet professional. After consulting with each plastic surgeon in Pittsburgh, PA I am so happy that I found and stuck with Dr. Fernau. Hands down best experience ever. They made sure I was confident, happy, healthy, and most importantly safe from beginning to end of my BBL procedure. 10 out of 10 stars awesome! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13466801
Review from T.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2016

Dr Fernau started with ab etching. Great results. Then Neograft 2000 grafts with Sherry,Bonnie and great results. Then bicep and calf implants. Wowser! He is an internationally known doctor right here in our own Steeler backyard ! Great doctor and staff. Go see him. You will love him ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12527307
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 04, 2016

Dr Fernau did an anatomical calf augmentation with Implantech implants and my results are far better than I expected. Natural and full calves is what I always wanted and that is what I got. Minimal downtime because he used Exparel long acting anesthetic. Great docor, great results. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12420425
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 29, 2016

Dr Fernau did excellent with abdominal etching with Smartlipo laser liposuction. I am showcased on his website. Check him out. The highest rated dr on the internet drjamesfernau with the best photo gallery. Amazing results. I am going back for a laser facelift and a NeoGraft hair transplant. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11560499
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 16, 2016

Dr. Fernau is excellent! He is very knowledgeable and kind and caring. He takes the time and answers all my questions. I have had fillers and my results are amazing. I will only go to Dr. Fernau for all my needs! His office staff is also wonderful! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11335078
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 03, 2016

Dr Fernau did a breast augmentation and smartlipo of my abdomen and hips with perfect results ! He and his staff are amazing. I am going back for buttock implants. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11252804
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 30, 2016

Dr Fernau did a Brazilan Butt Lift (BBL) and a 400cc gummy bear breast aug and Smartlipo of abs and hips. Fantastic results! Love him and his staff. He took over an hour with me and saw me and no charge for a second consult ! He also lasers over all scars at no charge. I really cant see any scars ! A 5 star doctor ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11010998
Review from K.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2016

Doctor Fernau is by far the best plastic surgeon in Pittsburgh! He and his staff have made me feel so comfortable from the moment I walked into the office even up until now, 15 months post op. He really treats you like a family member and truly cares about your wants, needs and wellbeing. He isn't out to just take your money, he is concerned about giving you the results you desire and from personal experience and looking at his before/afters on his website, you can tell he has perfected his craft. Not to mention, all his wonderful reviews he has from previous patients! Dr Fernau and his staff are truly wonderful people. His nurse Sheila and surgical technician Sherry comforted me and where there for me in any time of need. I can't thank them enough. If you are considering any type of plastic surgery, I highly recommend going to see Dr Fernau, you won't regret it! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9047350
Review from Z.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 11, 2016

Great waiting area with great staff for whenever you need to make an appointment. Everyone is so nice, the entire experience is very comforting More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8648653
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 25, 2015

I have been to a lot of doctors offices over the years and the staff is what separates this office from all of the others. They rearrange their schedule to meet your needs and address any concern you may have as if they were their own! He and his staff takes the time to research and train on the latest procedures and medications to improve the outcome of each surgery. This lowers the chances of complications and improves the quality. Its reassuring to know that he has the experience and expertise to do each surgery with ease, which makes the whole process much more relaxing. They have earned a life long relationship and friendship with me! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3976248
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 28, 2015

I received Botox from Dr. Fernau and the results are amazing! He is awesome and I am beyond pleased. The staff is so friendly and he actually takes his time to make sure you are 100% satisfied. I've gone to other places to get Botox and it couldn't compare to how amazing Dr. Fernau is. I look 15 years younger! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908999
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2015

I recently had septo/Rhinoplaasty done I'm very pleased with my results and my breathing is sensational I just wanna say thanks to Dr.fernau and his staff they changed my life I just got the splint off and my nose was better than expected . More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908998
Review from E.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 13, 2015

I recently had a rhinoplasty through Dr. Fernau and his medical staff. During my research process, he appeared in my searches time after time and the reviews spoke highly of his professionalism. When I consulted with other surgeon offices, they rushed me through phone calls, were unprofessional, or simply seemed to want my business, like I was a "number," not a patient. On my first phone call to Dr. Fernau's office, the receptionist answered my questions and took the time to describe her experiences with me. At my consultation, Dr. Fernau spent 2 hours with me, going through his experiences, answering all of my questions and allaying my fears. He discussed thoroughly the medical, cosmetic, and lifestyle benefits to the procedure, but ultimately left the decision up to me. He never pushed for my business, but was excited to potentially be a part of my decision to go through with the procedure. After the first consult, I was in. I was most excited that I would breathe better than I ever had in my life. This was a problem that I did not know was so bad until I noticed how improved my breathing had become post-procedure. A few days after he performed the operation, I breathed in through my nose, a full breathe, for the first time since I can remember. And as the days go by, my energy level is steadily increasing, which I can attribute to my ability to now get full oxygen through my nose. As far as the surgery itself, Dr. Fernau has incredible bedside manners and took car More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908997
Review from R.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 23, 2014

Dr. Fernau is a wonderful doctor and person! He is the best I have been to by far. He corrected a mistake that another physician made to my tear trough area that I went around with for two years that apparently no one else could correct. He took so much time and care with me to ensure that I looked my very best. The job that he did was amazing - his work is beautiful and he definitely strives for perfection. He and his staff were the most wonderful people- professional, very knowledgeable, and so friendly and warm. Everyone was so attentive with me. Dr. Fernau even gave me FREE laser treatment around my eye area and continues to do so. He went above and beyond in every way with me, and I wouldn't want to go to anyone but him. He uses the most current treatments and techniques that I have seen anywhere. Between the treatment I received from he and his staff and the immediate results that I got, I was crying. That's how grateful I was for how good they made me look and feel. Finally after two years, it was fixed. Thank you again Dr. Fernau and staff!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908996
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 15, 2014

I love dr. Ferneu ! He is a gifted , and kind Dr. I would always go back to him for any procedure. He is always honest , and that means so much. I had my eyes done , i had bags under my eyes. They had got much worse because of a very stressful time in my life. Not only did he take the time to listen , i couldn't have hoped for a better result. The staff is always so kind and helpful. Mary was so helpful with getting things squared away. Sheila was always so calming to have around , always makes me feel better . Sherry is stands out in that way to for me . Just so helpful. Cindy has done Micro dermabrasion and just improved my skin so much. Thank you so much ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908995
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 05, 2014

Dr. Fernau is well versed and knowledgeable. I had nasal surgery and couldn't be more thrilled with my results. He was very meticulous and caring about me post operatively. The staff is extremely caring as well! Couldn't have asked for a better experience. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908994
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 30, 2014

the best surgeon out there, did an amazing job had full confidence in him, staff was amazing nicest people out there was a friendly environment, very helpful with everything he also offered me free laser for as long as i was a patient, would recommend everyone to go there More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908993
Review from E.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 03, 2014

We found Dr. Fernau and his reviews and word of mouth were so good. I had terrible scars on my face, back and legs. He removed them and I cannot see any incision lines. It changed my life! I want to wear a bathing suit again. He also had me come in for free laser treatments which is why my scars are invisible. Nobody else in Pittsburgh offered this treatment. He is so professional and kind and gentle. I was never scared. His staff is so friendly and his office is beautiful. I noticed all of his awards and he offers the best of everything. I am so happy! Five stars to him!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908992
Review from V.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 11, 2014

I went to Dr. Fernau for labiaplasty and a breast augmentation. I have always been self conscious about my appearance in those areas up until now. Dr. Fernau assured me that I was a great candidate for these procedures and would be well taken care of. His entire staff is extremely wonderful as well! I felt very comfortable calling the office, and especially Sheila at any given time with any questions and concerns. Not only are you their patient, but also a "friend" as well which is very comforting. I truly appreciated the fact that you aren't on a "time crunch" either. Dr. Fernau and his staff are willing to take the time to ensure that you are well informed regarding every aspect prior to surgery and post-op. Cosmetic surgery is a life altering change and I can truly say that Dr. Fernau and his staff have truly exceeded my expectations. I am beyond satisfied with choosing him as my surgeon. I would highly recommend him to anyone! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908991
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 15, 2014

I had the rhinoplasty procedure done about a month ago and I could not be happier. My nose is now perfectly straight and the amount of air I can now breathe seems to be tripled. Would definitely recommend him and his staff to anyone and everyone! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908990
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 28, 2013

I got a Brazilian Lipoabdominoplasty. Dr. Fernau was very patient and gave me all the time that I needed to ask him questions about my surgery. I got a wound beneath my naval that he was able to fix right away. I am pleased with my results. I no longer have a stomach and that was my goal. Dr. Fernau continues to stick with you even after the surgery as far as healthy eating and exercise. He and his staff are very professional and friendly. If you want a Doctor who uses the latest technology and knows how to get the job done then set up an appointment with Dr. James Fernau because he is the man for the job. I would recommend him to family and friends. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908989
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 02, 2013

I just had a Brazilian Lipoabdominoplasty performed. I am very pleased with the results and recovery time. The staff is very friendly and make you feel so comfortable. I liked that you could reach Dr. Fernau day or night with any questions or concerns. I would recommend him to any friend or family. I will definitely use him again. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908988
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 25, 2013

I met with Dr. Fernau and his wife Sheila to talk about Breast Augmentation Surgery. I found them both very empathetic and kind. I agreed to have the surgery here and I have no regrets. It is a very clean and classy facility and everybody there is great! I am happy with my results and I would refer anybody to go there. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.