Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Liposuction* Procedures Near Pittsburgh, PA

Pittsburgh area men and women looking for a board-certified plastic surgeon to perform their cosmetic surgery procedure may find our patient reviews helpful. Dr. Fernau’s patients consider him to be one of the best plastic surgeons in the Pittsburgh area and we are very grateful for their ongoing testimonials. Every patient comment we receive we take to heart, for they keep Dr. Fernau striving to be that “Top Doc” that every patient is seeking. We invite you to read what our patients have to say about Dr. Fernau and our plastic surgery practice.

Filter39 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2018

Turning 41 this year and being active my whole life I started to realize areas that were always lean began to have fat deposits. I began to look for a remedy. I found Doctor Fernau on an internet search of top plastic surgeons in Pittsburgh. After reading hundreds of positive reviews I decided to make an appointment. When I first walked in the office I was greeted by his staff. During my consultation I found Doctor Fernau to be really down to earth. He answered every question I had and made suggestions of what my options were. I decided to have abdominal etching, liposuction of my love handles, and some fat grafting using the Hydrosolv form of liposuction. The day of surgery I was visited by Dr. Fernau and went over each step of the operation. During this time I asked Dr. Fernau if some of the fat taken could be placed into my calves. With out hesitation Dr. Fernau made this happen. I'm currently 6 weeks post op and couldnt be more satisfied. He's a skilled surgeon, but most importantly he honestly makes you feel like you matter. Any one looking to have any type of cosmetic/reconstructive surgery Dr. Fernau should not only be first on your list, but the only one on your list. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 08, 2018

Turning 41 this year and being active my whole life I started to realize areas that were always lean began to have fat deposits. I began to look for a remedy. I found Doctor Fernau on an internet search of top plastic surgeons in Pittsburgh. After reading hundreds of positive reviews I decided to make an appointment. When I first walked in the office I was greeted by his staff. During my consultation I found Doctor Fernau to be really down to earth. He answered every question I had and made suggestions of what my options were. I decided to have abdominal etching, liposuction of my love handles, and some fat grafting using the Hydrosolv form of liposuction. The day of surgery I was visited by Dr. Fernau and went over each step of the operation. During this time I asked Dr. Fernau if some of the fat taken could be placed into my calves. With out hesitation Dr. Fernau made this happen. I'm currently 6 weeks post op and couldnt be more satisfied. He's a skilled surgeon, but most importantly he honestly makes you feel like you matter. Any one looking to have any type of cosmetic/reconstructive surgery Dr. Fernau should not only be first on your list, but the only one on your list. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 10, 2017

48 Year Old Wanting to Look Good in Tops my Whole Life - I already gave a detailed review (see above). To summarize Dr Fernau is an excellent surgeon. Intelligent, kind, caring, thorough, extreme attention to detail, great beside manner, loved by his staff and patients in the waiting area. He is on top of all of the latest technology to give his patients the best results. And, other than breast augmentation his other work is superior. I saw first hand beautiful rhinoplasty results, facelift results and patients so happy with liposuction. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 25, 2017

My experience with Dr. Fernau and his staff was absolutely incredible. I had Pyloric Stenosis as an infant, which years later has resulted as deeply puckered scars throughout my abdomen. Dr. Fernau suggested hydrasolve liposuction and my results have been life-changing. The post-op recovery was quick and painless and there is no visible scarring as a result of this procedure. Dr. Fernau and his staff are incredibly helpful, honest, informative, and dedicated to providing their patients with a smooth and satisfactory experience. I cannot recommend him enough, he has absolutely changed my life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 25, 2017

My experience with Dr. Fernau and his staff was absolutely incredible. I had Pyloric Stenosis as an infant, which years later has resulted as deeply puckered scars throughout my abdomen. Dr. Fernau suggested hydrasolve liposuction and my results have been life-changing. The post-op recovery was quick and painless and there is no visible scarring as a result of this procedure. Dr. Fernau and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 25, 2017

Incredible Surgeon! - My experience with Dr. Fernau and his staff was absolutely incredible. I had Pyloric Stenosis as an infant, which years later has resulted as deeply puckered scars throughout my abdomen. Dr. Fernau suggested hydrasolve liposuction and my results have been life-changing. The post-op recovery was quick and painless and there is no visible scarring as a result of this procedure. Dr. Fernau and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 12, 2017

50ish in Job Competitive World with Neograft and Lipo Life Changing - Dr Fernau is exceptional in every way. His staff is the same. Great, great people My friend referred my for Neograft hair transplant and Dr Fernau and staff came through 100%. After 2 years all of my "patches" are gone. I can swim with confidence and am now on my third job promotion. Life changing experience for sure. I also use their hair products and get PRP injections. Use the laser cap , as well. About one year ago I came back for liposuction of my chest, abs and love handles and again another great result. Dr Fernau used hydrasolve lipo and he said it leaves things smooth and that is true. I went from a 38 to a 32. I feel great. His staff also recommend practical life eating and a more "natural" approach. I cut out out diet pop and what a difference. His staff are smart and sweet and always available for questions. Highest rating for Dr Fernau and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 12, 2017

Dr Fernau is exceptional in every way. His staff is the same. Great, great people My friend referred my for Neograft hair transplant and Dr Fernau and staff came through 100%. After 2 years all of my "patches" are gone. I can swim with confidence and am now on my third job promotion. Life changing experience for sure. I also use their hair products and get PRP injections. Use the laser cap , as well. About one year ago I came back for liposuction of my chest, abs and love handles and again another great result. Dr Fernau used hydrasolve lipo and he said it leaves things smooth and that is true. I went from a 38 to a 32. I feel great. His staff also recommend practical life eating and a more "natural" approach. I cut out out diet pop and what a difference. His staff are smart and sweet and always available for questions. Highest rating for Dr Fernau and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 12, 2017

neograft 2000 grafts with superior results after 2 years and went from 36 waist to 32 waist after liposuction of chest, abs and love handles Dr Fernau and staff are beyond great More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 12, 2017

50ish in Job Competitive World with Neograft and Lipo Life Changing - Dr Fernau is exceptional in every way. His staff is the same. Great, great people My friend referred my for Neograft hair transplant and Dr Fernau and staff came through 100%. After 2 years all of my "patches" are gone. I can swim with confidence and am now on my third job promotion. Life changing experience for sure. I also use their hair products and get PRP injections. Use the laser cap , as well. About one year ago I came back for liposuction of my chest, abs and love handles and again another great result. Dr Fernau used hydrasolve lipo and he said it leaves things smooth and that is true. I went from a 38 to a 32. I feel great. His staff also recommend practical life eating and a more "natural" approach. I cut out out diet pop and what a difference. His staff are smart and sweet and always available for questions. Highest rating for Dr Fernau and his staff. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-14663228
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 22, 2017

Awesome surgeon! Has a very caring bedside manner. He is very meticulous about his work. I've had several procedures and trust his skills as a surgeon. Staff is caring too! At least call for a consultation and he will answer any questions you have thoroughly without judgment. I was scared to go show some stranger my body issues but he made me feel that's its normal for people to want to improve themselves. He is very professional and loves what he does. From eyelift, rhinoplasty, dermabrasion, buttlift to liposuction, I've loved all my results! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12725748
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 15, 2016

Dr Fernau is Aplus on the cutting edge of plastic surgery. I have great results with SmartLipo of chest,abdomen and love handles. Back to work in 2 days. Such a kind man. He cares about my long term results with an extensive organic diet and vitamin regimen. He is number one in my estimation ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12718077
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 15, 2016

Dr Fernau is on the A plus cutting edge of surgical procedures. My SmartLipo of chest, abdomen and love handles turned out great. Easy recovery. No pain. Went from 38 to 32 pants and sticking to a good diet per Dr Fernau. He cares about your long term results. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12493561
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 02, 2016

THE BEST DOCTOR I have ever seen. Great breast aug and BBL. I am going back for more Lipo and sending my friends. He is so kind and takes so so much time to explain and answer questions. He is truly passionate about his work. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12433391
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau is simply the best. Liposuction of abdomen and hips with BBL Excellent!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12415973
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau did excellent abdominal etching with Smartlipo laser liposuction. Fantastic, caring man. Professional in every way and honest. Great staff. My results are featured on his website. I am going back for a laser facelift a nd NeoGraft hair transplant. Check him out. Most 5 star reviewed Doctor I could find and I now I know why. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12420425
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 29, 2016

Dr Fernau did excellent with abdominal etching with Smartlipo laser liposuction. I am showcased on his website. Check him out. The highest rated dr on the internet drjamesfernau with the best photo gallery. Amazing results. I am going back for a laser facelift and a NeoGraft hair transplant. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-07-29
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 27, 2016

Abdominal Etching - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Frnau did an excellent job with my abdominal etching. I looked a long time for someone to do this and when I found Dr Fernau I knew he was the one for the job. He is smart, professional and down to earth. He has great staff. My recovery was fast with the Smartlipo. My results are showcased on his website. - - Dr Fernau did an excellent job with my abdominal etching. I looked a long time for someone to do this procedure and when I found Dr Fernau I immediately knew he was the one for the job. He is smart, professional and down to earth. His staff is great. I recovered quick with the Smartlipo. My results are showcased on his website. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12387864
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jul 27, 2016

Dr Fernau performed abdominal etching using Smartlipo with excellent results. He is smart, professional and down to earth. His staff is great. My recovery was quick. I am going back for a laser facelift. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 29, 2016

Middle Aged Female Finally Wanting Breast Implants - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Fernau is amazing. Perfectionist. Brilliant. Kind. He really cares! He has a great staff. His up to date knowledge about Exparel gave me a pain free breast augmentation! I had no down time even with lipo of my abdomen and hips. My girlfriend had a breast lift and a tummy tuck which turned out perfect. Dr Fernau is a fantastic 5 star surgeon! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11118364
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 21, 2016

Dr Fernau performed a beautiful and satisfying breast augmentation using Sientra gummy bear implants 350 mL and simultaneous he performed smart liposuction of my abdomen and hip rolls and outer and inner thigh's and knees With absolutely fantastic and perfect results! He always complements his staff and I can see why because they are so wonderful and he is unbelievably kind and compassionate. And more than that he is a genius at his work ! I know that he has one so many Top Dr. Awards and writes papers worldwide and studies worldwide and I really appreciate that in a doctor. Best of all he is so down-to-earth and wonderful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 19, 2015

Breast Augmentation, Brazilian Butt Lift - Accent on Body Cosmetic Surgery - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Fernau is superb. My consult was over one hour. He explained everything in detail. How the breasts and buttock shape work together. He was so right. I am happy I listened to him. He is very smart and kind. My surgery and recovery was relatively painless; a little pressure thats all. My aftercare has been great with laser treatments over my scars at no charge: I cant see them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 18, 2015

54 Year Old in Need of More Hair - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Fernau performed a NeoGraft hair transplant approximately one year ago and my results are excellent. I have been a patient of Dr. Fernau for over 15 years and he has performed facelift, neck lift and eyelid surgery with outstanding results. I also recently had liposuction of my chest, stomach and love handles with outstanding results. He always stays on the cutting edge and always spends so much time with me I always feel right at home during the office visits.He is a world-class surgeon. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4768169
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jul 17, 2015

Dr Fernau performed a NeoGraft hair transplant on me approximately one year ago and my results are excellent. Additionally, I have been a patient of Dr. Fernau for over 15 years and in that time he has performed a facelift, neck lift , eyelid lifts and liposuction on my chest , stomach and love handles with outstanding results. He is a consummate professional and on top of his game. He always takes the necessary time to discuss each procedure and graciously performs touch up at no additional charge including laser treatment over my scars which are invisible. Simply stated, he is a world class surgeon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 12, 2015

46 Year Old Wanting a New Shape to Breasts and Butt - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Fernau is awesome! He did a Brazilian Butt Lift and a Breast Augmentation and they both turned out perfect! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 26, 2015

I have been to Dr. Fernau over the last couple of years for a variety of procedures in which I have been tremendously happy with the results;the benefits from undergoing anything from botox or liposuction has been immediate. He is not only professional to work with but also very insightful on what/how a change needs to be done for you to look your best. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4308494
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 14, 2015

Had Brazilian Butt Lift, Liposuction, Breast Lift. Perfect results after one year. Fabulous doctor. So knowledgeable and stays on top of all latest techniques. My butt has not lost any volume. Amazing results !!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 14, 2015

63 Year Old Mother of 3 Needing Correction of a Sagging Butt and Breasts and Overhaul of Body. Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Fernau is kind, caring, professional and smart. You can tell his staff love him and so do the other patients in his office I met. I feel the same. I have sent girlfriends to his office and they experienced similar results as mine. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4524127
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 13, 2015

Dr Fernau performed a BBL or Brazilian Butt Lift and body contour liposuction including a breast lift as part of a mommy makeover. Outstanding results. Perfect to me. It has been one year and my buttocks have retained almost all of their volume far beyond my expectations. My breasts are symmetric and he fat grafted them to increase size which is perfect. He used SAFELipo on my body and all of my contours are smooth. I could not be happier. His staff gave me their phone numbers including Dr Fernau and I felt comfortable from the first consult to my last visit. I rate him 100 out of 10 ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3595729
Review from B.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Mar 07, 2015

Dr Fernau did a Brazilian Buttock Lift with great results. He far exceded my expectations. I had multiple areas of liposuction and I am smooth everywhere. The fat was grafted into my buttocks. Over one year has passed and my results are great ! He augmented my breasts with fat and I went from an A to a C cup. Everything looks so natural ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 07, 2015

Needed a Butt and Breasts. Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Fernau is fabulous ! and so are my results ! I had no butt and no breasts and too much flab everywhere. I went from flab to fab ! He liposuctioned my arms, back , bra line, love handles, thighs and stomach , saved the fat and put it in my butt. WOW ! Almost a year and I have a great butt. Had a breast aug too and love it. My whole shape is incredible. He is incredible. Great staff ! Little to no pain. Highly recommend him !!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3240563
Review from A.  |  Source: Doctor.com  |  Feb 22, 2015

I had liposuction of my hip rolls and abdomen and the fat put in my butt and a silicone gel augmentation. I love my results ! Dr Fernau is excellent and professional. His staff is the same. I would send friends and family to him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 22, 2015

35-year-old Black Female Desiring More Shape to my Body and a Larger Butt - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr. Fernau performed a Brazilian butt lift and a breast augmentation and a labioplasty and my results are terrific. He is kind and professional and so is his staff. I would go to him again and I am going to him again for other procedures and I would send my family and friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 24, 2015

34 Yr Old Female BBL and Liposuction - Pittsburgh, PA - BEST IN WESTERN PA!!! I would rate 10 stars if I could!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8246592
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 22, 2015

Dr Fernau is all about excellence and genuinely the nicest doctor I have ever met! He is so knowledgeable, kind ,caring and approachable. He and his staff are the finest. From my first phone call to my very last visit I was treated with so much genuine kindness and everyone was helpful. I was never rushed. He spent over one hour with me during my first consult. Other doctors topped out at 20 minutes. I got to review his photo gallery from facelifts to liposuction and his results are incredible . I had surgery for gynecomastia and my results are perfect. I can take my shirt off at the beach . I was impressed at his genuine passion for his work and he took a lot of time encouraging an organic lifestyle of nutrition and exercise. He really wants me to retain my result. In short, he is the greatest doctor I have ever met! More

5.0
Review from JM  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau did abdominal etching with Smartlipo and excellent results! More

4.7
ReviewTracker-8246602
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jul 17, 2014

I had tumescent liposuction done on my abdomen and hips this past May by doctor Fernau. During my consultation Dr. Fernau answered any necessary questions that I had asked. The staff was very professional and made me feel comfortable on the day of the surgery. They treated me like royalty. I was the only appointment on the day of my surgery so they did everything they could to make sure I was comfortable. I would not recommend that anyone choose any other doctor but Dr. Fernau. My results were exactly what I was looking for and could not be more happy. Since the surgery I was given Dr. Fernau's personal cell phone number along with Sheila's in case I had any questions. I have been seen about 3 times since my surgery and have started getting my scars removed, which by the way are not very noticeable at all. More

Patient Story
ReviewTracker-12401526
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Foursquare  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau did abdominal etching with Smartlipo with excellent results. Amazing results. Excellent Doctor that Dr James. My results are showcased on his website. I am going back for a laser facelift. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Citysearch  |  Dec 31, 2015

I couldn't be happier with my decision of choosing Dr. James Fernau for my abdominal/flanks liposuction.Even though I work out regularly (I was a fitness instructor for many years) and live a healthy lifestyle, I struggled with getting rid of fat around my midsection. I tried different non-surgical procedures that gave me no results. It wasn't until I met with Dr. James Fernau that I felt confident that I would finally get the results I'd been hoping for. Not only did he have the eye and extensive knowledge to recommend the best approach to achieve my goal; but he carefully took the time to listen to my needs which resulted in the natural look I was wishing for. I'm so happy with the results! With my newly sculpted return to my more feminine shape, I've regained the self-confidence that I had lost over time.Beside Dr. James Fernau's expertise, my main reason for choosing him to do my surgery was the feeling I got of a kind, genuine person that truly cares for making a difference in my life. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.