Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Male Procedures Near Pittsburgh, PA

Pittsburgh area men and women looking for a board-certified plastic surgeon to perform their cosmetic surgery procedure may find our patient reviews helpful. Dr. Fernau’s patients consider him to be one of the best plastic surgeons in the Pittsburgh area and we are very grateful for their ongoing testimonials. Every patient comment we receive we take to heart, for they keep Dr. Fernau striving to be that “Top Doc” that every patient is seeking. We invite you to read what our patients have to say about Dr. Fernau and our plastic surgery practice.

Filter45 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Google  |  May 27, 2022

I had Cyst removal surgery with Dr. Fernau and a neograft procedure with Sherry, Erika, and Ameneh. I am very happy with how the procedures were handled and they made sure I always felt comfortable and at ease. Definitely earned my recommendation! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 19, 2021

Dr. Fernau and his staff were very professional and knowledgeable. My experience from day 1 (consultation) for gynecomastia / liposuction surgery exceeded all of my expectations. Ms Shiela was very kind and warm. She made me feel extremely comfortable and explained everything in understandable detail. Every visit she greeted me with a smile and made me feel at ease in the process. Dr Fernau was very personable and confident in achieving my desired results. I can honestly say he truly cares about his patients. Needless to say, I’m extremely happy with his work and my results. I met Ms. Sherry the day of my surgery and the post-surgery follow-up. She was very kind and personable as well. I cannot thank this staff enough for their continued professionalism and support both before and after my procedure. I highly and strongly recommend giving them the opportunity to help you look and feel your best! I look forward to my next appointment for the stitches removal. God bless! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 18, 2021

Dr. Fernau and his staff were very professional and knowledgeable. My experience from day 1 (consultation) for gynecomastia / liposuction surgery exceeded all of my expectations. Ms Shiela was very kind and warm. She made me feel extremely comfortable and explained everything in understandable detail. Every visit she greeted me with a smile and made me feel at ease in the process. Dr Fernau was very personable and confident in achieving my desired results. I can honestly say he truly cares about his patients. Needless to say, I’m extremely happy with his work and my results. I met Ms. Sherry the day of my surgery and the post-surgery follow-up. She was very kind and personable as well. I cannot thank this staff enough for their continued professionalism and support both before and after my procedure. I highly and strongly recommend giving them the opportunity to help you look and feel your best! I look forward to my next appointment for the stitches removal. God bless! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I needed a mommy make over after having my last child. Dr. Fernau did the most amazing job!! He listened to all my concerns and eased all my fears and concerns. I loved how he was using all the new state of the art techniques and products. And most important, safety was his number one goal. As a new mom that was so important to me!!! I had a tummy tuck many years ago and I was amazed at how much faster my recovery was this time compared to my first one. I even had more procedures with my tummy tuck this time which included , liposuction of multiple places , breast implant exchange, and a breast lift. I was back to work in 2 weeks, I was shocked. His staff was so friendly and helpful throughout the surgical process. I cannot say enough about how wonderful my entire experience was from start to finish! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 02, 2021

I needed a mommy make over after having my last child. Dr. Fernau did the most amazing job!! He listened to all my concerns and eased all my fears and concerns. I loved how he was using all the new state of the art techniques and products. And most important, safety was his number one goal. As a new mom that was so important to me!!! I had a tummy tuck many years ago and I was amazed at how much faster my recovery was this time compared to my first one. I even had more procedures with my tummy tuck this time which included , liposuction of multiple places , breast implant exchange, and a breast lift. I was back to work in 2 weeks, I was shocked. His staff was so friendly and helpful throughout the surgical process. I cannot say enough about how wonderful my entire experience was from start to finish! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 24, 2019

I just finished day seven of my post-surgery checkup with Dr Fernau, and here’s my personal experience. Upon arrival of my consultation, I was greeted by the friendliest staff. Every one of them helped in my progression, aided in my treatments, calmed my anxiety, and exceeded my expectations. Scheduling surgery and getting the medications for the operation were straightforward. As for the surgery, the instructions were clear, the procedure explained, and questions answered. The results were beyond what I expected. Dr Fernau is exceptionally passionate about his work and cares for his patients. The open communication that Dr Fernau has with his staff is what creates such a successful business model and positive outcomes for his patients. After surgery I had difficulty walking, and one of the staff members helped my wife with taking me home. The compassion, dedication, and excellence that I experienced with Dr Fernau and his staff give me the pleasure of providing the highest of recommendations. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

Turning 41 this year and being active my whole life I started to realize areas that were always lean began to have fat deposits. I began to look for a remedy. I found Doctor Fernau on an internet search of top plastic surgeons in Pittsburgh. After reading hundreds of positive reviews I decided to make an appointment. When I first walked in the office I was greeted by his staff. During my consultation I found Doctor Fernau to be really down to earth. He answered every question I had and made suggestions of what my options were. I decided to have abdominal etching, liposuction of my love handles, and some fat grafting using the Hydrosolv form of liposuction. The day of surgery I was visited by Dr. Fernau and went over each step of the operation. During this time I asked Dr. Fernau if some of the fat taken could be placed into my calves. With out hesitation Dr. Fernau made this happen. I'm currently 6 weeks post op and couldnt be more satisfied. He's a skilled surgeon, but most importantly he honestly makes you feel like you matter. Any one looking to have any type of cosmetic/reconstructive surgery Dr. Fernau should not only be first on your list, but the only one on your list. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 09, 2018

Hands down the BEST - Turning 41 this year and being active my whole life I started to realize areas that were always lean began to have fat deposits. I began to look for a remedy. I found Doctor Fernau on an internet search of top plastic surgeons in Pittsburgh. After reading hundreds of positive reviews I decided to make an appointment. When I first walked in the office I was greeted by his staff. During my consultation I found Doctor Fernau to be really down to earth. He answered every question I had and made suggestions of what my options were. I decided to have abdominal etching, liposuction of my love handles, and some fat grafting using the Hydrosolv form of liposuction. The day of surgery I was visited by Dr. Fernau and went over each step of the operation. During this time I asked Dr. Fernau if some of the fat taken could be placed into my calves. With out hesitation Dr. Fernau made this happen. I'm currently 6 weeks post op and couldnt be more satisfied. He's a skilled surgeon, but most importantly he honestly makes you feel like you matter. Any one looking to have any type of cosmetic/reconstructive surgery Dr. Fernau should not only be first on your list, but the only one on your list. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2018

Turning 41 this year and being active my whole life I started to realize areas that were always lean began to have fat deposits. I began to look for a remedy. I found Doctor Fernau on an internet search of top plastic surgeons in Pittsburgh. After reading hundreds of positive reviews I decided to make an appointment. When I first walked in the office I was greeted by his staff. During my consultation I found Doctor Fernau to be really down to earth. He answered every question I had and made suggestions of what my options were. I decided to have abdominal etching, liposuction of my love handles, and some fat grafting using the Hydrosolv form of liposuction. The day of surgery I was visited by Dr. Fernau and went over each step of the operation. During this time I asked Dr. Fernau if some of the fat taken could be placed into my calves. With out hesitation Dr. Fernau made this happen. I'm currently 6 weeks post op and couldnt be more satisfied. He's a skilled surgeon, but most importantly he honestly makes you feel like you matter. Any one looking to have any type of cosmetic/reconstructive surgery Dr. Fernau should not only be first on your list, but the only one on your list. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 08, 2018

Turning 41 this year and being active my whole life I started to realize areas that were always lean began to have fat deposits. I began to look for a remedy. I found Doctor Fernau on an internet search of top plastic surgeons in Pittsburgh. After reading hundreds of positive reviews I decided to make an appointment. When I first walked in the office I was greeted by his staff. During my consultation I found Doctor Fernau to be really down to earth. He answered every question I had and made suggestions of what my options were. I decided to have abdominal etching, liposuction of my love handles, and some fat grafting using the Hydrosolv form of liposuction. The day of surgery I was visited by Dr. Fernau and went over each step of the operation. During this time I asked Dr. Fernau if some of the fat taken could be placed into my calves. With out hesitation Dr. Fernau made this happen. I'm currently 6 weeks post op and couldnt be more satisfied. He's a skilled surgeon, but most importantly he honestly makes you feel like you matter. Any one looking to have any type of cosmetic/reconstructive surgery Dr. Fernau should not only be first on your list, but the only one on your list. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 08, 2018

Turning 41 this year and being active my whole life I started to realize areas that were always lean began to have fat deposits. I began to look for a remedy. I found Doctor Fernau on an internet search of top plastic surgeons in Pittsburgh. After reading hundreds of positive reviews I decided to make an appointment. When I first walked in the office I was greeted by his staff. During my consultation I found Doctor Fernau to be really down to earth. He answered every question I had and made suggestions of what my options were. I decided to have abdominal etching, liposuction of my love handles, and some fat grafting using the Hydrosolv form of liposuction. The day of surgery I was visited by Dr. Fernau and went over each step of the operation. During this time I asked Dr. Fernau if some of the fat taken could be placed into my calves. With out hesitation Dr. Fernau made this happen. I'm currently 6 weeks post op and couldnt be more satisfied. He's a skilled surgeon, but most importantly he honestly makes you feel like you matter. Any one looking to have any type of cosmetic/reconstructive surgery Dr. Fernau should not only be first on your list, but the only one on your list. More

4.8
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 17, 2018

From the first consultation, Dr. Fernau and his staff were beyond welcoming and helpful. He made me feel like I was his only patient. He seemed genuinely excited about my procedure and getting me the results that I wanted. He's a perfectionist and won't settle for less than perfect results. He travels around the world attending conferences related to his trade. He has his finger on the pulse of the latest technologies. I lost about 100 pounds 2 years ago and my breasts were loose bags of skin and tissue. He performed a breast lift and augmentation using the PAM technique. Its only been a month, but I can't believe how good they look. The scarring is so minimal right now and they look like full, natural breasts. I couldn't be happier with Dr. Fernau or my experience. I plan to go to him again for an abdominoplasty next year. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 12, 2017

50ish in Job Competitive World with Neograft and Lipo Life Changing - Full hair and smaller waist. Had a neograft hair transplant 2000 grafts 2 years ago and 1 year ago liposuction of chest, abs and love handles by Dr Fernau with great results. I am on third job promotion and feel confident. My waist was 36 and now it is 32. After showering or swimming I do not see those annoying patches. Dr Fernau and staff get my highest rating and recommendation. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-14249101
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 24, 2017

Dr. Fernau helped me with a bilateral pectoral and bicep augmentation...but beyond that he and his team assisted me with everything. I traveled from out of country and they helped with transportation, follow-up visits, prompt email inquiries. It's not quite the final look I was wanting but it's a part of the process that I'm very excited to continue on working with Dr. Fernau and his team with. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-10-28
Review from 1.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 26, 2016

46 Year Old Male Wanting Six Pack Back - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Fernau is the best doc I ever could have found to do my abdominal etching! My results are better then I thought they would be. He really cared and coached me on exercise and eating healthy! His office staff called me after surgery and other times to check on me and give me encouragement. He did some body implants of my friends and I am coming back for implants for bicep, deltoid,pec and calf. He is the best ! - - Dr Fernau actually gave me a six pack! I had abdominal etching 10 months ago using smartlipo and my abs are back ! One great thing about Dr Fernau he really cares. I was weighed every time I came in and he always encouraged exercise and healthy eating. I really followed instructions and it paid off. He and his staff are a great team. No other medical office can compare ! I'm coming for bicep, deltoid , pec and calf implants. He did some of buddies with knock out results ! He is the best ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13463230
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 26, 2016

Dr Fernau is exceptional in every way. Skill, knowledge, compassion, honesty. A true would class surgeon! I had abdominal etching with smartlipo, bicep and calf implants and I "topped" it off with a neograft hair transplant. I am a patient for life. He has worked on 4 family members with equally remarkable results. A great man ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13464809
Review from T.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 26, 2016

Doc Fernau is simply put THE best. I had all of the surgery listed within the past year and great results. He cares. Always has the best equipment and staff. I send friends ,family all the time. I'm going back for more ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12718078
Review from J.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 16, 2016

Dr Fernau and his technicians performed a 2000 graft hair transplant with no incision and after 18 months my results are fabulous ! Excellent doctor and excellent staff! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12725748
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 15, 2016

Dr Fernau is Aplus on the cutting edge of plastic surgery. I have great results with SmartLipo of chest,abdomen and love handles. Back to work in 2 days. Such a kind man. He cares about my long term results with an extensive organic diet and vitamin regimen. He is number one in my estimation ! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12718077
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 15, 2016

Dr Fernau is on the A plus cutting edge of surgical procedures. My SmartLipo of chest, abdomen and love handles turned out great. Easy recovery. No pain. Went from 38 to 32 pants and sticking to a good diet per Dr Fernau. He cares about your long term results. More

5.0
Review from JM  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau and Sherry and Bonnie did 2000 NeoGraft hair transplants and results are superb. Way beyond expectations. I love my new hair ! More

5.0
Review from JM  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau did abdominal etching with Smartlipo and excellent results! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12415973
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau did excellent abdominal etching with Smartlipo laser liposuction. Fantastic, caring man. Professional in every way and honest. Great staff. My results are featured on his website. I am going back for a laser facelift a nd NeoGraft hair transplant. Check him out. Most 5 star reviewed Doctor I could find and I now I know why. More

Patient Story
ReviewTracker-12401526
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Foursquare  |  Jul 30, 2016

Dr Fernau did abdominal etching with Smartlipo with excellent results. Amazing results. Excellent Doctor that Dr James. My results are showcased on his website. I am going back for a laser facelift. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12420425
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 29, 2016

Dr Fernau did excellent with abdominal etching with Smartlipo laser liposuction. I am showcased on his website. Check him out. The highest rated dr on the internet drjamesfernau with the best photo gallery. Amazing results. I am going back for a laser facelift and a NeoGraft hair transplant. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12688390
Review from J. .  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 29, 2016

Dr Fernau is excellent at abdominal etching with Smartlipo. My results are showcased on his website. Amazing surgeon. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12560420
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Doctor.com  |  Jul 29, 2016

Dr Fernau is excellent at abdominal etching with Smartlipo. My results are showcased on his website. Amazing surgeon. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12402584
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 29, 2016

Dr Fernau did excellent with my abdominal etching. My recovery was quick with Smartlipo. I had little discomfort. Dr Fernau is a great guy. Smart, professional and down to earth. His staff is super. I'm going back for a laser facelift. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12403376
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 28, 2016

Dr Fernau did excellent with abdominal etching using Smartlipo. Highest recommendation. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-07-29
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 27, 2016

Abdominal Etching - Pittsburgh, PA - Dr Frnau did an excellent job with my abdominal etching. I looked a long time for someone to do this and when I found Dr Fernau I knew he was the one for the job. He is smart, professional and down to earth. He has great staff. My recovery was fast with the Smartlipo. My results are showcased on his website. - - Dr Fernau did an excellent job with my abdominal etching. I looked a long time for someone to do this procedure and when I found Dr Fernau I immediately knew he was the one for the job. He is smart, professional and down to earth. His staff is great. I recovered quick with the Smartlipo. My results are showcased on his website. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12387864
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jul 27, 2016

Dr Fernau performed abdominal etching using Smartlipo with excellent results. He is smart, professional and down to earth. His staff is great. My recovery was quick. I am going back for a laser facelift. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12034597
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jul 16, 2016

The BEST Dr I have ever been to. I had a chin augmentation and cheek augmentation with superb results. I am coming back for a NeoGraft hair transplant and a laser facelift. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12036606
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jul 16, 2016

The BEST dr I have ever seen. I had a cheek and chin augmentation with ssuperb results. I am telling all my friends and I am coming back for a laser facelift Precision TX and a NeoGraft hair transplant. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11118363
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 20, 2016

Dr Fernau performed a NeoGraft hair transplant on me over one year ago and my results are fantastic! Six months ago from day rhinoplasty and removed a large dorsal hump and narrow the tip of my nose and it is completely changed my life! He is a true master in the field of plastic surgery. He performs laser facelifts the necklifts and that is going to be my next procedure and I am really looking forward to it! More

5.0
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  May 05, 2016

Dear Dr. Fernau, I hope you are having a wonderful week! I know you are very busy, so I only want to take a short minute of your precious time. I just wanted to express my utmost gratitude to you for everything you have done for me in my hair restoration process. Between the FUE procedure and the PRP treatments, I cannot find the words powerful enough to thank you for making this treatment financially feasible for me. From the very first time I met you for my consultation, I immediately felt like part of your family and was confident that this was the right choice. You were always honest with me and only wanted what was best for me to get the desired results, and I am so unbelievably thankful for your kindness and diligence. You have truly changed my life. Please don't ever hesitate to reach out to me to promote your practice in any way I can. Coming to you was truly one of the best decisions of my life, and I cannot thank you enough. More

Shymchyk, Andrew.png
5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 06, 2015

Gynecomastia Surgery Abdominal Etching - Robinson, PA - 10 STAR THE BEST IN PA MAYBE THE COUNTRY!!!! M.TAYLOR More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3241921
Review from A.E.  |  Source: Yellowpages  |  Feb 17, 2015

I used to have gynecomastia until Dr Fernau performed liposuction on my chest Now it is smooth and my muscles are defined again. He did a great job. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3421803
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 04, 2015

My experience with the hair transplant I had with Dr. Fernau and his staff was both very professional but also very rewarding. I have had 2 previous transplants with another facility and they were not done with the new NeoGraft system. I feel that this transplant will be much more successful than the previous ones I've had. I arrived at Dr. Fernau's office at 6:30 in the morning and left at 9:30 that night. I had 26 hair follicles implanted. The 2 women who worked vigorously for 14 straight hours, Sherry Goodman and Bonnie Rawson, were completed devoted to getting my hair exactly the way I intended it to look. I would recommend Dr. Fernau and his staff to anyone needing a hair transplant. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3595730
Review from C.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Jan 28, 2015

I had a hair transplant called NeoGraft and had 1500 grafts placed . My results are excellent. Far beyond my expectations. His staff and facility our state-of-the-art. Everyone is friendly and Dr. Fe rnau is a consummate professional.I would send any family member or friend to him and I am going to see him for another procedure in the future. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3421804
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 28, 2015

I had a NeoGraft hair transplant with amazing results. Dr Fernau and staff are pure professionals More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8246592
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 22, 2015

Dr Fernau is all about excellence and genuinely the nicest doctor I have ever met! He is so knowledgeable, kind ,caring and approachable. He and his staff are the finest. From my first phone call to my very last visit I was treated with so much genuine kindness and everyone was helpful. I was never rushed. He spent over one hour with me during my first consult. Other doctors topped out at 20 minutes. I got to review his photo gallery from facelifts to liposuction and his results are incredible . I had surgery for gynecomastia and my results are perfect. I can take my shirt off at the beach . I was impressed at his genuine passion for his work and he took a lot of time encouraging an organic lifestyle of nutrition and exercise. He really wants me to retain my result. In short, he is the greatest doctor I have ever met! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3240562
Review from A.  |  Source: Doctor.com  |  Jan 10, 2015

Nine months ago Dr Fernau performed a facelift and a forehead left and a neck left and eyelid surgery and my results are amazing. My friends tell me I look 15 years younger. He also performed laser resurfacing of my scars free of charge and you cannot see any scars on my face lift incisions. I am extremely impressed by his nurses and staff as they have treated me so well and answered all of my questions. Dr Fernau keeps up with the latest technology and I am going to have a NeoGraft no incision hair transplant performed by him and his staff. Also he has his own aesthetician and I have gone to her for many micro dermabrasion's and she has placed me on a skin care regimen which I really like. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3595732
Review from D.  |  Source: Wellness  |  May 20, 2014

I had a face lift, eye lid surgery and a neck lift. Several months later I had a fat transfer procedure in which fat was injected into my face to correct some deep wrinkles. I am extremely satisfied w ith the results. As a physician myself, I would only go to another doctor if I knew of his reputation and surgical skill. Dr, Fernau has an excellent reputation among other physicians and he is a highly skilled surgeon. I would recommend him to my friends, family members and patients. His staff was exceptionally nice and very responsive to my questions and needs. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8246617
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 19, 2012

I am a current patient with Dr. Fernau. So far, my face lift and eye lift have gone very well. I have found Dr. Fernau to be very competent, kind and especially talented with his ability to bring out the best in my features. His staff is equally kind and competent. I am truly looking forward to enjoying how much better I will look after the work he has done on me. More

4.5
ReviewTracker-8246610
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 07, 2012

Dr. Fernau is a meticulous, knowlegeable, experienced and extremely caring doctor. He performed a full face lift for me that was nearly perfect. My face was lifted but retained a natural appearance. I receive compliments all the time and requests for the surgeon's name. His staff is friendly, personable, helpful and completely informed. I do not hesitate to highly recommend him. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.