Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Septoplasty Procedures Near Pittsburgh, PA

Pittsburgh area men and women looking for a board-certified plastic surgeon to perform their cosmetic surgery procedure may find our patient reviews helpful. Dr. Fernau’s patients consider him to be one of the best plastic surgeons in the Pittsburgh area and we are very grateful for their ongoing testimonials. Every patient comment we receive we take to heart, for they keep Dr. Fernau striving to be that “Top Doc” that every patient is seeking. We invite you to read what our patients have to say about Dr. Fernau and our plastic surgery practice.

Filter41 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 01, 2022

Dr. Fernau, Sheila and his whole staff define what it means to be a consummate professional. I personally came to Dr. Fernau because of his reputation for such quality work and a very high success rate, and he did not disappoint. Dr. Fernau performed a Septoplasty/Rhinoplasty procedure on me and I cannot be any more pleased with the results than I am now, the outcome is even better than I expected. From the first consultation, Dr. fernau explained in detail the process and exactly what this procedure would entail. The follow up, professionalism, and just genuine care and attention that you get from Dr. Fernau and his whole staff are second to none. The results of his work speaks for itself. However, he goes above and beyond to not just create a great outcome, but to make you comfortable and understand that you are in good hands. I would highly recommend that anyone looking to get a top quality doctor and incredible results with a specific attention to your needs and well being to speak with Dr. Fernau. I can testify from experience that you will not be disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 22, 2022

My nose has bothered me since I was a young girl . Finally in my 20’s Dr Fernau did a rhinoplasty & septoplasty . It was the greatest feeling in the world to look in the mirror and not hate my nose. I loved it & my confidence was so much better. Later in my 40’s my daughter accidentally broke my nose and ruined my result. I was so upset because now I no longer liked getting my pictures taken and no longer felt confident. I tried just dealing with it since I was older but inside it really bothered me. Luckily Dr. Fernau saw the damage and understood how it made me feel. The reconstruction would be a difficult one but he was feeling up to the challenge. He rebuilt my nose and gave me an amazing result even though it was very complicated. I feel I missed out on so many photos with my daughter but now feel happy and excited to take pictures again with her and my family. I always feel safe with Dr Fernau and his staff. They feel more like family to me. I always know I’m in good hands . I cannot thank him enough for making me happy & confident again! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 19, 2022

I went to Dr. Fernau for a septoplasty/ rhinoplasty exactly three weeks ago today. I cannot recommend him and his team enough! The whole process from beginning at the consultation to the latest check up has been a great experience. The surgery was painless and recovery was quick! I had no bruising and minimal swelling for just a few days. I also had no nausea after the anesthesia as I previously have had and I credit this to the preop care that Dr. Fernau provides. The results far exceed my expectations only 3 weeks out and I can’t wait to see the final results in just a few more months. Thank you Dr. Fernau, Sherry, Sheila and staff! Highly recommend!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 10, 2022

I went to Dr. Fernau for a septoplasty/ rhinoplasty exactly three weeks ago today. I cannot recommend him and his team enough! The whole process from beginning at the consultation to the latest check up has been a great experience. The surgery was painless and recovery was quick! I had no bruising and minimal swelling for just a few days. I also had no nausea after the anesthesia as I previously have had and I credit this to the preop care that Dr. Fernau provides. The results far exceed my expectations only 3 weeks out and I can’t wait to see the final results in just a few more months. Thank you Dr. Fernau, Sherry, Sheila and staff! Highly recommend!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 02, 2022

Take a moment out of your day and take a deep breath. Today was the first time in roughly 25 years that I could fill my lungs all the way up just using my nose. Dr. Fernau, Sherry, and Sheila flawlessly performed the septoplasty that gifted me the pleasure of breathing unobstructed. Along with providing excellent pre and after care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 17, 2021

Dr. Fernau most recently performed a septoplasty/rhinoplasty for me. I am so thrilled with the final result! My nose still looks like "me", but it is much more smooth and has a contoured look now, not to mention I can actually breathe now, too (thanks to the septoplasty). His work is absolute perfection! The surgery was smooth and my recovery was pain-free. I didn't even have to take any pain meds. This man is clearly a miracle worker! He is meticulous in his craft and strives for perfection. One month before my surgery he and his staff met with me and gave me a vitamin & nutrition plan to follow to help with prepping my body for surgery and help make my recovery more smooth. I don't know any doctors who go above and beyond like that to further benefit their patients' outcomes. He truly wants the best outcome for his patients and takes safety very seriously. His staff communicates very well and makes sure you have cell #s to call in case issues arise. Dr Fernau himself even spoke to my mom on the phone after my surgery and gave her his cell # just in case. You will not find a doctor who cares more than Dr Fernau! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

I have been treating with Dr. Fernau since 2017. I had a botched deviated septum surgery by a different doctor in 2007 which left me with a nose that was twisting and collapsing. I did a lot of research and saw multiple doctors for consultation before choosing Dr. Fernau. He treated me the way you would take care of a member of your own family. He was so kind, caring and reassuring about what needed to be done. He is very accomplished and knowledgeable. Dr. Fernau had to rebuild my nose from scratch. I have had 4 surgeries and now I’m undergoing PRP to thicken the skin on my nose. Dr. Fernau told me that he wouldn’t stop until my nose was perfect. He has continued to keep his word. I am a complicated case and have had a few setbacks along the way. Other doctors would have abandoned me or never even attempted to help me, but not Dr. Fernau. Today will be my first appointment since the COVID restrictions were lifted. I’m looking forward to getting back on track and I know that I have a doctor that will see this through to completion. Thank you Dr. Fernau. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 25, 2021

I had a deviated septum. It was horrible. He fixed it and did such a wonderful job. I have never been so confident in my life. I finally can breathe through both nostrils after all these years. Truly amazing !!!!!! I highly recommend. All the staff are very friendly and knowledgable. They treat you like family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 14, 2020

I have been treating with Dr. Fernau since 2017. I had a botched deviated septum surgery by a different doctor in 2007 which left me with a nose that was twisting and collapsing. I did a lot of research and saw multiple doctors for consultation before choosing Dr. Fernau. He treated me the way you would take care of a member of your own family. He was so kind, caring and reassuring about what needed to be done. He is very accomplished and knowledgeable. Dr. Fernau had to rebuild my nose from scratch. I have had 4 surgeries and now I’m undergoing PRP to thicken the skin on my nose. Dr. Fernau told me that he wouldn’t stop until my nose was perfect. He has continued to keep his word. I am a complicated case and have had a few setbacks along the way. Other doctors would have abandoned me or never even attempted to help me, but not Dr. Fernau. Today will be my first appointment since the COVID restrictions were lifted. I’m looking forward to getting back on track and I know that I have a doctor that will see this through to completion. Thank you Dr. Fernau. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 27, 2020

Had a severely deviated septum from past injuries. Dr. Fernau fixed me up and my breathing is now great. His staff is fantastic, from Sheila to Josh - I felt valued and informed throughout the process, pre through post op. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

Dr Fernau not only fixed my deviated septum, he also made my nose look beautiful! Way beyond my expectations! He and his staff are not only caring, but they are excellent at what they do! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 26, 2019

Excellent, Talented Surgeon - Dr. Fernau performed a rhinoplasty, septoplasty, and otoplasty on me. I am extremely happy with the result. In addition to being extremely talented, he is also very big on patient safety and I would recommend him 1000%. The office staff were always very kind and willing to answer any questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 11, 2018

Dr Fernau not only fixed my deviated septum, he also made my nose look beautiful! Way beyond my expectations! He and his staff are not only caring, but they are excellent at what they do! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Google  |  May 08, 2018

Dr Fernau not only fixed my deviated septum, he also made my nose look beautiful! Way beyond my expectations! He and his staff are not only caring, but they are excellent at what they do! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 08, 2018

I Had surgery for a deviated septum and rhinoplasty on April 13, 2018. I am only a month out and love the results. They are better than I could have imagined . Dr Fernau and his staff are excellent at what they do!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 16, 2017

19 y/o Septo-rhinoplasty - Ever since I can remember, I've never been able to breathe through my nose. Eventually I found out that I had a deviated septum and figured now while I'm young (19, f), now would be a good time to get a septoplasty and also fix a bump that I've always been self conscious of on my bridge. The second Dr.Fernau saw my nose he could tell me that my nose had been broken at one point in my life, mind you that I've been to numerous ENT specialists and other plastic surgeons that never mentioned that. He assured me that after the septo-rhinoplasty that I'd be able to breathe completely after the surgery and I scheduled the surgery a few days later. The office staff was always accommodating to my needs and questions as the surgery got closer (helping me plan my appointments well in advance around my weird work schedule, squeezing me in when needed) and were always friendly. Dr.Fernau made me feel so comfortable and prepared before the surgery with all of the pre-operative measures he takes with a vitamin regime, ointments and soaps using for the last three days before surgery. You always knew that he knew what he was doing and was doing it for your best interest. The day of surgery I was so nervous! He came back before surgery and met my family and assured them (and me again) that I'd be ecstatic with the outcome. 5 hours later I woke up and my boyfriend told me that he said my nose fracture was so bad that a piece of bone actually chipped away. He said before surgery he couldn't get a syringe up my one nostril and after he could fit his fingers up there so I will now be able to breathe. My surgery was July 20th so my first post-op appointment was four days later to get my internal splints out. I went into the appointment feeling weak, tired and not like myself. With black eyes and a swollen face, how can anyone feel good? As soon as he came in he could sense that and in a matter of minutes he had me laughing. He has a wonderful bedside manner. I'm not gonna candy coat it, the splint removal was HORRIBLE. I thought my brain was gonna come out with them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 10, 2017

I am 24 years old and I have always had difficulty breathing due to a trauma that occurred when I was a child. Not only did I have trouble breathing, I was very self-conscious because of the appearance of my nose due to the trauma. I began researching for doctors and came across Dr. Fernau in Pittsburgh, PA. I decided to book a consultation with him because of all the excellent reviews I read and his continued education. During my consultation Dr. Fernau was very personable, intelligent and took his time explaining to me my condition and his plan to correct my deviated septum and to improve the appearance of my nose. He made me feel very much at ease and after the consultation, I knew right away he was the one I wanted to do my septorhinoplasty. Only a few days later I booked my surgery. Sheila and Sharon helped me get the exact date I wanted even though his schedule was very busy. (Because he is AWESOME.) After my surgery Dr. Fernau gave me his personal cell phone number to contact him if needed. During my recovery I texted him and he responded immediately with compassion and the information I needed. After week one I was able to get my internal splints out and I could breathe better than I ever had in my life, and I was brought to tears. After two weeks I was allowed to remove my nasal cast and the appearance of my nose was AMAZING. My nose was very natural looking and fit perfectly with my face. I am currently 3 weeks postop and I can confidently say that my choice to have this surgery was life changing. If you want a surgeon who will do amazing work and who makes you feel like family, Dr. Fernau is your guy. I cannot brag enough about him and his staff. They are all so knowledgeable, helpful and warm. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 02, 2017

AMAZING Doctor, Great Results for SeptoRhinoplasty - I am 24 years old and I have always had difficulty breathing due to a trauma that occurred when I was a child. Not only did I have trouble breathing, I was very self-conscious because of the appearance of my nose due to the trauma. I began researching for doctors and came across Dr. Fernau in Pittsburgh, PA. I decided to book a consultation with him because of all the excellent reviews I read and his continued education. During my consultation Dr. Fernau was very personable, intelligent and took his time explaining to me my condition and his plan to correct my deviated septum and to improve the appearance of my nose. He made me feel very much at ease and after the consultation, I knew right away he was the one I wanted to do my septorhinoplasty. Only a few days later I booked my surgery. Sheila and Sharon helped me get the exact date I wanted even though his schedule was very busy. (Because he is AWESOME.) After my surgery Dr. Fernau gave me his personal cell phone number to contact him if needed. During my recovery I texted him and he responded immediately with compassion and the information I needed. After week one I was able to get my internal splints out and I could breathe better than I ever had in my life, and I was brought to tears. After two weeks I was allowed to remove my nasal cast and the appearance of my nose was AMAZING. My nose was very natural looking and fit perfectly with my face. I am currently 3 weeks postop and I can confidently say that my choice to have this surgery was life changing. If you want a surgeon who will do amazing work and who makes you feel like family, Dr. Fernau is your guy. I cannot brag enough about him and his staff. They are all so knowledgeable, helpful and warm. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 31, 2017

19 y/o Septo-rhinoplasty - Ever since I can remember, I've never been able to breathe through my nose. Eventually I found out that I had a deviated septum and figured now while I'm young (19, f), now would be a good time to get a septoplasty and also fix a bump that I've always been self conscious of on my bridge. The second Dr.Fernau saw my nose he could tell me that my nose had been broken at one point in my life,... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 31, 2017

Ever since I can remember, I've never been able to breathe through my nose. Eventually I found out that I had a deviated septum and figured now while I'm young (19, f), now would be a good time to get a septoplasty and also fix a bump that I've always been self conscious of on my bridge. The second Dr.Fernau saw my nose he could tell me that my nose had been broken at one point in my life,... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 31, 2017

19 y/o Septo-rhinoplasty - Ever since I can remember, I've never been able to breathe through my nose. Eventually I found out that I had a deviated septum and figured now while I'm young (19, f), now would be a good time to get a septoplasty and also fix a bump that I've always been self conscious of on my bridge. The second Dr.Fernau saw my nose he could tell me that my nose had been broken at one point in my life,... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A. .  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 13, 2017

I am 24 years old and I have always had difficulty breathing due to a trauma that occurred when I was a child. Not only did I have trouble breathing, I was very self-conscious because of the appearance of my nose due to the trauma. I began researching for doctors and came across Dr. Fernau in Pittsburgh, PA. I decided to book a consultation with him because of all the excellent reviews I read and his continued education. During my consultation Dr. Fernau was very personable, intelligent and took his time explaining to me my condition and his plan to correct my deviated septum and to improve the appearance of my nose. He made me feel very much at ease and after the consultation, I knew right away he was the one I wanted to do my septorhinoplasty. Only a few days later I booked my surgery. Sheila and Sharon helped me get the exact date I wanted even though his schedule was very busy. (Because he is AWESOME.) After my surgery Dr. Fernau gave me his personal cell phone number to contact him if needed. During my recovery I texted him and he responded immediately with compassion and the information I needed. After week one I was able to get my internal splints out and I could breathe better than I ever had in my life, and I was brought to tears. After two weeks I was allowed to remove my nasal cast and the appearance of my nose was AMAZING. My nose was very natural looking and fit perfectly with my face. I am currently 3 weeks postop and I can confidently say that my choice to have this surgery was life changing. If you want a surgeon who will do amazing work and who makes you feel like family, Dr. Fernau is your guy. I cannot brag enough about him and his staff. They are all so knowledgeable, helpful and warm. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.U.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 09, 2017

I got a rhinoplasty/septoplasty in February. Everything about my experience has been great, from my initial consult until now having pos-op appointments. I am already so pleased with Dr Fernau's work. I wish I would have made this decision sooner because I am so happy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 04, 2017

Rhinoplasty/Septoplasty 10 out of 10 - I got a rhinoplasty/septoplasty and I am so satisfied with the results. Dr Fernau and his staff are incredible - I would HIGHLY recommend. This entire experience has been amazing from the original consult up until now having post-op appointments. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 04, 2017

I got a rhinoplasty/septoplasty and I am so satisfied with the results. Dr Fernau and his staff are incredible - I would HIGHLY recommend. This entire experience has been amazing from the original consult up until now having post-op appointments. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 04, 2017

Rhinoplasty/Septoplasty 10 out of 10 - I got a rhinoplasty/septoplasty and I am so satisfied with the results. Dr Fernau and his staff are incredible - I would HIGHLY recommend. This entire experience has been amazing from the original consult up until now having post-op appointments. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 02, 2017

I am 24 years old and I have always had difficulty breathing due to a trauma that occurred when I was a child. Not only did I have trouble breathing, I was very self-conscious because of the appearance of my nose due to the trauma. I began researching for doctors and came across Dr. Fernau in Pittsburgh, PA. I decided to book a consultation with him because of all the excellent reviews I read and his continued education. During my consultation Dr. Fernau was very personable, intelligent and took his time explaining to me my condition and his plan to correct my deviated septum and to improve the appearance of my nose. He made me feel very much at ease and after the consultation, I knew right away he was the one I wanted to do my septorhinoplasty. Only a few days later I booked my surgery. Sheila and Sharon helped me get the exact date I wanted even though his schedule was very busy. (Because he is AWESOME.) After my surgery Dr. Fernau gave me his personal cell phone number to contact him if needed. During my recovery I texted him and he responded immediately with compassion and the information I needed. After week one I was able to get my internal splints out and I could breathe better than I ever had in my life, and I was brought to tears. After two weeks I was allowed to remove my nasal cast and the appearance of my nose was AMAZING. My nose was very natural looking and fit perfectly with my face. I am currently 3 weeks postop and I can confidently say that my choice to have this surgery was life changing. If you want a surgeon who will do amazing work and who makes you feel like family, Dr. Fernau is your guy. I cannot brag enough about him and his staff. They are all so knowledgeable, helpful and warm. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 18, 2016

I am 24 years old and I have always had difficulty breathing due to a trauma that occurred when I was a child. Not only did I have trouble breathing, I was very self-conscious because of the appearance of my nose due to the trauma. I began researching for doctors and came across Dr. Fernau in Pittsburgh, PA. I decided to book a consultation with him because of all the excellent reviews I read and his continued education. During my consultation Dr. Fernau was very personable, intelligent and took his time explaining to me my condition and his plan to correct my deviated septum and to improve the appearance of my nose. He made me feel very much at ease and after the consultation, I knew right away he was the one I wanted to do my septorhinoplasty. Only a few days later I booked my surgery. Sheila and Sharon helped me get the exact date I wanted even though his schedule was very busy. (Because he is AWESOME.) After my surgery Dr. Fernau gave me his personal cell phone number to contact him if needed. During my recovery I texted him and he responded immediately with compassion and the information I needed. After week one I was able to get my internal splints out and I could breathe better than I ever had in my life, and I was brought to tears. After two weeks I was allowed to remove my nasal cast and the appearance of my nose was AMAZING. My nose was very natural looking and fit perfectly with my face. I am currently 3 weeks postop and I can confidently say that my choice to have this surgery was life changing. If you want a surgeon who will do amazing work and who makes you feel like family, Dr. Fernau is your guy. I cannot brag enough about him and his staff. They are all so knowledgeable, helpful and warm. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13863701
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Dec 18, 2016

I am 24 years old and I have always had difficulty breathing due to a trauma that occurred when I was a child. Not only did I have trouble breathing, I was very self-conscious because of the appearance of my nose due to the trauma. I began researching for doctors and came across Dr. Fernau in Pittsburgh, PA. I decided to book a consultation with him because of all the excellent reviews I read and his continued education. During my consultation Dr. Fernau was very personable, intelligent and took his time explaining to me my condition and his plan to correct my deviated septum and to improve the appearance of my nose. He made me feel very much at ease and after the consultation, I knew right away he was the one I wanted to do my septorhinoplasty. Only a few days later I booked my surgery. Sheila and Sharon helped me get the exact date I wanted even though his schedule was very busy. (Because he is AWESOME.) After my surgery Dr. Fernau gave me his personal cell phone number to contact him if needed. During my recovery I texted him and he responded immediately with compassion and the information I needed. After week one I was able to get my internal splints out and I could breathe better than I ever had in my life, and I was brought to tears. After two weeks I was allowed to remove my nasal cast and the appearance of my nose was AMAZING. My nose was very natural looking and fit perfectly with my face. I am currently 3 weeks postop and I can confidently say that my choice to have this surgery was life changing. If you want a surgeon who will do amazing work and who makes you feel like family, Dr. Fernau is your guy. I cannot brag enough about him and his staff. They are all so knowledgeable, helpful and warm. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-5387109
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 24, 2015

Amazing doctor, amazing staff, amazing results! My husband recently had a revision rhinoplasty and septoplasty performed by Dr. Fernau. The results are impeccable, and more perfect than we could have imagined. Not only is Dr. Fernau truly a talented, knowledgeable surgeon, his entire staff was so helpful and caring. We highly recommend his practice. You will be in great hands! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-5387344
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 24, 2015

Amazing doctor, staff, and results! I recently underwent a revision rhinoplasty and septoplasty after a botched surgery several years ago. After visiting several doctors who were unsure of the expected results, I chose Dr. Fernau who confidently, yet carefully, took on this surgery. Dr. Fernau is meticulous and thorough, knowledgeable, and and incredibly friendly doctor. Additionally, his wonderful staff made my experience wonderful. I recommend his practice highly! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-5394074
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 24, 2015

Everything about my experience with Dr. Fernau and his staff was EXCEPTIONAL. I had my first consultation for a revision rhinoplasty and septoplasty in June, and underwent the surgery at the end of July. After visiting several other plastic surgeons in the area, I chose Dr. Fernau without hesitation because of his knowledge, confidence, experience, and the excellent service and care of his staff. My results are truly something amazing, and something I thought I would never get to experience. I recommend Dr. Fernau and his practice with the utmost confidence that you will be just as pleased with your experiences! - J. Doneluck More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 22, 2015

My husband had his first consultation with Dr. Fernau in June 2015, and underwent a revision rhinoplasty and septoplasty at the end of July. We both can only say wonderful things about his experiences with not only Dr. Fernau himself, but his staff, the recovery, and the surgery results. Several years ago, my husband had his first septoplasty and rhinoplasty, which was performed by his ENT, and ultimately left him with a "botched' result. After visiting several other plastic surgeons in the Pittsburgh area, we just couldn't seem to find a doctor who was 100% positive he or she could fix the original surgery results to my husband's preference. Finally,after visiting Dr. Fernau, we both felt so confident with the decision to move forward with the surgery. Dr. Fernau was very honest and frank about the issues my husband was dealing with, but assured us that we could expect exceptional results. After a smooth recovery and constant communication with Dr. Fernau and his staff, we finally got to see the results, which were more than we expected. The issues with my husband's nose that several other doctors seemed sure were "unfixable" are drastically improved. Both my husband and I highly recommend Dr. Fernau, and with utmost confidence. - Cara Doneluck More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-07-24
Review from E.  |  Source: DoctorBase  |  Feb 16, 2015

I recently had a rhinoplasty/septoplasty through Dr. Fernau for cartilage structural problems, difficulty breathing and sleeping, and a shape I did not like. I researched various surgeons in the Pittsburgh area who were well-qualified in medical as well as cosmetic surgery. Finding Dr. Fernau was a blessing. Many of the doctors offices I called gave me a bad impression: they were insincere, or treated me as another number to add to their books, or simply rushed me into the process. During my research, however, Dr. Fernau's name continued to appear as a well-reviewed, credible surgeon who was highly qualified. This was evident in the initial phone call I made to the office. Knowing very little about the process, the receptionist stayed on the phone with me for a while to answer all of my questions and to share her own experiences. This type of care continued into my first consultation, where Dr. Fernau spent 2 hours with me, answering questions, calming my doubts, giving me all the information I needed, but never pushing me to become his patient. He left the decision to me and made sure I was well-informed to make it. This type of sincerity was shown by every staff member I came across. Each took the time to learn who I was, what I was hoping to get, and to share their own experiences and prior fears. When it came time for surgery, Dr. Fernau met with me and immediately calmed any last-minute doubts in my mind. He was so passionate and focused that I became excited to see the work he would accomplish! He was meticulous, perfectionistic, and took incredible strides to ensure that his work product would be his best. My results are astounding--far beyond what I ever expected. I now have full oxygen through my nose (the first time I had ever experienced that, as I had only 10% through one side), I now sleep through the night for the first time in my life, the fracture in my cartilage and deviated septum are fixed, and it looks stunning on the outside! He is not only meticulous in his medical work, but he is a total perfectionist in his cosmetic work. His bedside manners were outstanding, his post-op attentiveness was great, and he answers the phone day and night for any questions I have. He still takes the time to give me tips and suggestions to ensure an efficient and painless recovery. Upon my return to the office after surgery, he was just as excited as I was to reveal the results. He lives and breathes this work and I am beyond thrilled to have found him.Dr. Fernau strives for perfection in every patient he works with. I highly recommend looking into Dr. Fernau and his staff for whatever procedure you are considering. I am honored to have been the patient of Dr. Fernau and I give him an A++++++! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3908999
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 30, 2015

I recently had septo/Rhinoplaasty done I'm very pleased with my results and my breathing is sensational I just wanna say thanks to Dr.fernau and his staff they changed my life I just got the splint off and my nose was better than expected . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2015

I am SO impressed by Dr. Fernau's work. Having no idea what to really expect, I searched through a ton of reviews to make sure that I was making a good decision on having Dr. Fernau perform my rhinoplasty/septoplasty procedure. After the thorough consultation (which, by the way, the amount of time that he spent talking with me was unlike any other doctor I have ever encountered), I was confident that Dr. Fernau was not only a perfectionist (something I absolutely wanted for somebody who would be working on my nose, both opening up my nasal passages as well as ensuring that my nose looked better than it had prior to the surgery), but also incredibly passionate about his work and incredibly skillful. I am always skeptical of reviews, but I could not believe the amount of positive feedback and world-recognition Dr. Fernau has. These two things ensured that he would do a good job. Now, almost 3 weeks post-op, I could not be happier with the work he has done. I am breathing better than I ever have and the recovery period was painless as he provided all of the medicine I needed. Any questions I had, I texted and called him and he was patient and helpful in his responses and answers. And my nose looks perfect! Due to a fracture and a severely deviated septum, I had a slight curve to my nose from the profile and the tip of my nose was rounded due to my Italian ethnicity. Post-op, I have the cutest nose - I can't stop looking in the mirror!I can confirm (as well as my sister who had the same procedure) that Dr. Fernau is an outstanding surgeon and an expert at his work. Patient, thorough, detail-oriented, a perfectionist and one of the best at his profession. I 100% support going to him for a consultation, being open about any and all questions or concerns, and scheduling this procedure. It was absolutely worth it and like a dream come true having a surgeon like this so close to home. I am beyond grateful! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3595731
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Wellness  |  Jan 25, 2015

Hi my name is Dannielle R I recently had septo/Rhinoplasty done from Dr. Fernau I'm very pleased with my reults so far. I'm still in healing process but from what I can see my nose looks great and m ost importantly I can breathe , The staff At Dr. fernau's office is fantastic I couldn't have asked for better customer service .. D.R More

5.0
ReviewTracker-3421805
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 24, 2015

I recently had septo/Rhinpolasty From Dr. fernau ,I was a little nervous about getting it done because I heard so many stories of the pain , But my sinus headaches had become unbearable . I had visited 2 other EnT surgeons prior to Dr. fernau .And I just didn't connect I felt as though I was just another number . But with Dr. fernau and his staff I felt very comfortable within the first 20 minutes of consulting with him he was very kind and comforting . also his confidence made me feel secure .needless to say I had the procedure done and I'm beyond pleased with the results . my nose looks better day by day, and my breathing is excellent. I can sleep at night without sitting up . I will tell anyone that will listen Dr. fernau as his staff are very professional and they believe in quality not just quantity it shows through their treatment to the public ...D.R More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8246594
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 18, 2015

I recently had a rhinoplasty/septoplasty through Dr. Fernau. There are a number of aspects that make me recommend him highly. During my research of a skilled surgeon, I found that I wanted two things from the surgeon I chose: (1) one who was capable of performing a procedure that would help me medically (deviated septum, fracture, 10% breathing through the left side of my nose, etc.); and (2) one who was also skilled in aesthetics and cosmetic procedures as I knew this procedure would change the look of my nose. I called various other offices to ask about the surgeons and consultations, but had poor or average experiences. However, my meeting with Dr. Fernau was exceptional. He took over 2 hours with me during my consultation simply to make sure I understood everything, to answer every question, to discuss his experiences, and to take the time to understand what I wanted and needed. He discussed the medical benefits that would result-particularly my breathing and the increased energy, ability to sleep through the night, and improvements that would result in my life. Further, he has an incredible talent for aesthetics and ensuring that the shape of my nose (Italian bump on the bridge) would be improved with the surgery. In fact, everyone person I met in his office was so genuine, caring, and more than willing to share their own experiences. Even during my first phone call to the office, the receptionist took time to share her thoughts and experiences with me, which put me at ease. On the day of the procedure, Dr. Fernau was motivated and excited for me to see the successful results I would receive. He was caring, extremely thorough, and unbelievably meticulous in his work. The post-op meetings have been exceptional as well. He met with me and my sister (we both got the procedure done on the same day! That's how skilled he is!!) for over an hour, discussing procedures, and answering questions. Dr. Fernau was so caring and excited to show us the unbelievable results because he invested his heart into this work. It is a rare quality to find a surgeon who is so brilliant and skilled, but also so genuinely happy for his patients. Growing up without the ability to breathe well, I never realized how bad it was. Dr. Fernau said this would be life changing for me. And he was correct, it has changed my life already. I believe Dr. Fernau to be an expert in his field, and I highly recommend him for any procedure you are hoping to have. A++++ in all aspects. You are in skilled and trusted hands with Dr. Fernau. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8246605
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Dec 16, 2014

I had a deviated septum repair, nasal fracture repair, and rhinoplasty last month. Dr. Fernau is an excellent plastic surgeon and also an ENT. He has taken excellent care of me. His staff are friendly, professional, and make you feel at ease there. They always answer any questions that I may have. I would never consider going anywhere else. I feel confident in the care he has given me. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-8246612
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 15, 2013

Dr. Fernau diagnosed and performed my rhinoseptoplasty surgery within two weeks of my initial consultation. I appreciated the help of his staff in scheduling and coordinating the tests needed prior to surgery in a timely manner. Not to mention, the results are fantastic More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.